Principal Deputy Special Counsel

Tristan Leavitt began as Principal Deputy Special Counsel at OSC after working for eight years on Capitol Hill, including for the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee and the Senate Judiciary Committee.  During that time, he conducted congressional investigations into matters such as the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives' Operation Fast and Furious, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services' EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program, and misconduct at the U.S. Secret Service and the Transportation Security Administration.  He also worked with dozens of whistleblowers in these and other investigations.

While working on the Senate Judiciary Committee, Mr. Leavitt handled all whistleblower protection policy for Senator Chuck Grassley, the co-author of the False Claims Amendments Act of 1986 and the Whistleblower Protection Act of 1989.  Mr. Leavitt worked on a number of bipartisan whistleblower protection bills and in 2013 shepherded the passage of the first congressional resolution designating July 30 as National Whistleblower Appreciation Day.  He also spearheaded a congressional amicus brief in the Supreme Court case Department of Homeland Security v. MacLean and proposed the establishment of the Senate Whistleblower Protection Caucus, launched in early 2015.  On the House Oversight Committee, Mr. Leavitt worked closely with his counterparts across the aisle to advance several pieces of whistleblower protection legislation that were signed into law, including the FBI Whistleblower Protection Enhancement Act of 2016 and the Follow the Rules Act.  He also served as Chairman Jason Chaffetz's designated staff member for the new House Whistleblower Protection Caucus.

Mr. Leavitt received his B.A. from Brigham Young University and his J.D. from Georgetown University Law Center. He ​is a native of Idaho Falls, Idaho.


HENRY KERNERSpecial Counsel
TRISTAN LEAVITTPrincipal Deputy Special Counsel
BRUCE FONGAssociate Special Counsel, Investigation and Prosecution
BRUCE GIPEChief Operating Officer
KAREN GORMANChief of Retaliation and Disclosure Unit
ANNE GULLICKChief, Dallas Field Office
PATRICK HARTOBEYDirector of Legislative Affairs
JANE JULIANOChief, Alternative Dispute Resolution Unit
KARL KAMMANNChief Financial Officer
ZACHARY KURZCommunications Director
JENNIFER LIChief Information Officer and Information Branch Chief
MARIAMA LIVERPOOLChief, Investigation and Prosecution Division – Headquarters
LOUIS LOPEZAssociate Special Counsel, Investigation and Prosecution – Headquarters
KATHY MCDUFFIEChief Human Capital Officer
CATHERINE MCMULLENChief, Disclosure Unit
ELIZABETH MCMURRAYChief of Retaliation and Disclosure Unit
TRAVIS MILLSAPSDirector of Public Policy
SHIRINE MOAZEDChief, Diversity, Outreach & Training
DARSHAN SHETHChief, Investigation and Prosecution Division – Headquarters
JOSEPH SIEGELMANChief, San Francisco Bay Area Field Office
CHRISTOPHER T. TALLChief, Detroit Field Office
SUSAN K. ULLMANGeneral Counsel
RACHEL VENIERChief, Investigation and Prosecution Division – Headquarters
ANNE WAGNERAssociate Special Counsel
BARBARA WHEELERChief, Case Review Division